by Paul Del Net
is a question from Jim Moisse of Wild Wing.
Thanks to Jim for this questions as it is a regular event
for us because we play in such short fields.
in a game the Bandits were playing in, we were batting, one
of our guys hit the ball over the right field fence, it was
going out any ways but the defensive player made a try to
catch it and it nicked his glove and continued over the
fence. I ruled it a home run because it would have gone out
anyways if it wasn’t touched. This used to be the rule, in
fact this rule has changed about 3 times in the past 10
years for some reason.
was wrong, the rule as it is now states;
“Any ball touched by a defensive player which then goes over
the fence in fair territory shall be a four base award and
not considered a home run”
Intent is not considered in this rule. Any touch means it is
a 4 base award.
sportsmanship will be critical when calling this.
was another event the other night involving the 2 base award
on an over throw.
From the rulebook.
runners, including the batter-runner shall be awarded two
bases from the last base legally touched based on their
position at the time that the thrown ball left the fielder’s
hand if there are two runners between the same bases,
the award is based on the position of the lead runner
Consider the scenario, unlikely but
possible, when there are runners on first and second, the
batter hits a fair ground ball and everyone starts to run.
batter/runner and the guy on first are extremely fast and
the guy on second running to third is really slow, all three
runners are between second and third when the outfielder
throws the ball and it ends up out of play. The important
element here is that the runner that started at 2nd
base has not yet touched 3rd
The base awards
are as follows.
runner that started on 2nd
is awarded 3rd
and home, 2 bases. The runner that started on second is only
because of what the lead runners position was and the
batter/runner is awarded 2nd
This is a rare event but a variation
of this did happen the other night.
And 1 last quick item:
was asked the other day if on a force play can the fielder
hold the ball in his hand and touch the base with his glove
to get the out.
answer is yes,
long as the player is in control of the ball, in his glove
or hand, and it is a force play then the out is recorded.
TAG is the action of a fielder in touching a base with his
body while holding the ball securely and firmly in his hand
or glove; or touching a runner with the ball, or with his
hand or glove holding the ball, while holding the ball
securely and firmly in his hand or glove.
The order of precedence for the
rules we use are:
- Special league rules that
supersede those of SPO.
- If not modified by our
bylaws the SPO Handbook should be used.
The SPO handbook can be found at:
(It says 2012 but its valid)
rules are not specifically listed in the SPO hand book but
can be found in the Softball Canada rule book.